Recovery Doesn’t Happen in Isolation 

I’ve spent the last four weeks attending a pretty intense group therapy program, designed to enhance my emotional regulation skills, distress tolerance strategies and improve my interpersonal relationships and today, in a moment of reflection, I believe it’s been time well invested. I’m seeing a huge improvement in my self-awareness, as mindfulness is a key component of this particular program. I feel so much more in touch with myself and my feelings, and more capable of dealing with the intense emotions that come up. 

It helps that I’m really throwing myself into the group sessions. Allowing myself to be vulnerable and brutally honest. Practicing the difficult interactions that I struggle with in the “outside world” that create conflict in my life, and accepting the feedback from the other members. And being able to sit through the discomfort and anxiety that this experience invokes. There’s moments when I just want to be invisible, but I remind myself of why I’m there and instead choose to challenge my fears. 

I am incredibly grateful for the amazing team of psychiatrists, therapists, and fellow group members that are helping to make this such a rewarding experience. Recovery doesn’t happen in isolation. 

About wendyenberg

Living the best life I can with BPD, Major Depressive Disorder, Anxiety and PTSD. Mental illness won't stop me from achieving my dreams - it will inspire me to keep fighting harder.
This entry was posted in mental illness, Uncategorized, Wellness and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Recovery Doesn’t Happen in Isolation 

  1. Evelyn says:

    I really needed this post today as i am reflecting on my emotions.Thank you!

Leave a Reply

