For Paris 

  The tragic events that have taken place over the last week because of terrorists are extremely hard to come to terms with. As someone who strives to come from a place of love, compassion and understanding for my fellow human, I can’t grasp the mentality of what drives other humans to kill. 

And then the more I think about it and try to educate myself, the more I begin to understand that this appears to be a religious war. As an Atheist, I cannot comprehend the idea that any God would allow these actions to be carried out in his or her name. First of all, I don’t believe in a God. I believe that man created him when he had no explanation for the wonders of the Universe. He needed some way to make sense of how he had come to be. 

As we’ve evolved, so has our intellectual abilities and capacity to learn more things. We know now how the Universe was created and can explain how life came to be. It’s time to let go of the old beliefs and step into the new world. 

I do believe in the values that we learned as a society. Loving our fellow man, compassion and kindness to one another, valuing the life of another and doing good for your fellow man. But you don’t need to pray to a false god to be all those things. You just need to be human. 

I don’t pray for Paris. Instead, I find ways in my own part of the world to show the values I want the world to share. I will give someone compassion today, for Paris. I will be kind to a stranger, for Paris. I will help someone in need today, for Paris. 

About wendyenberg

Living the best life I can with BPD, Major Depressive Disorder, Anxiety and PTSD. Mental illness won't stop me from achieving my dreams - it will inspire me to keep fighting harder.
This entry was posted in mental illness. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

