World Mental Health Day – What It Means To Me

  
Today, the world is talking about mental health. Finally. And for the most part, it’s in a positive and healthy way. Today, in discussions being held everywhere and in everyway possible about how we as a society can focus on developing strategies that will improve the lives of those living with the devastating symptoms of mental illness. 

I’m one of those people. Yep, the one in five statistic you hear about? I’m one. I’ve been living with depression all of my life, battled borderline personality disorder, and am now experiencing PTSD. I did not choose my illnesses, nor do I allow myself to be defined by the label “mentally ill”. I have a medical condition that happens to affect my brain. And for that, I have endured stigma and shame that was not mine to bear. As have so many other one in fives. 

I’d be remiss if I didn’t write today about the power of using my voice to make a difference. That voice may be small, but it is mighty and will not be dissuaded from being heard. More needs to be done for people living with mental illness and it needs to be done now. We need to put boots on the ground and bring the supports to the people who have fallen through the cracks. We need to crawl down into the holes with them and let them know they aren’t alone anymore. We need to reconnect them with the world that abandoned them. 

Our world needs to show empathy and compassion to everyone who is suffering in silence. We need to stop shaming people for having an illness of the brain, and we need to stop treating them as if they were no longer deserving of compassion and love.  

Let’s make every day Mental Health Day. 

About wendyenberg

Living the best life I can with BPD, Major Depressive Disorder, Anxiety and PTSD. Mental illness won't stop me from achieving my dreams - it will inspire me to keep fighting harder.
This entry was posted in mental illness, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

