Those semicolons! 

I’ve seen and heard about the semicolon project since around 2013 and I’ve participated each April by drawing a semicolon on my wrist and posting a picture to the project to show my solidarity and support with everyone else who has struggled with suicidal thoughts or attempts, or has lost someone to the illness. 

“PROJECT SEMICOLON (THE SEMICOLON PROJECT) 

A semicolon is used when an author could’ve chosen to end their sentence, but chose not to. The author is you and the sentence is your life. ” http://www.projectsemicolon.com/

Twice I had attempted to end my sentence, but fate intervened and allowed my story to continue. By getting the semicolon tattoo on my inside wrist, I hope it will serve as a reminder to me in my darker times that I have a choice to not end it then. 

I’m excited at the prospect of seeing others in my community with a semicolon tattoo because I will feel a kinship with that person. Because they’ve lived it. Loved someone through it. And lost so much to it.  

For me the semicolon represents not only choosing to continue my story, but sharing my story. It’s about letting the world know that there’s a whole community of people that deserve compassion and understanding. The semicolon will help be my voice. 

About wendyenberg

Living the best life I can with BPD, Major Depressive Disorder, Anxiety and PTSD. Mental illness won't stop me from achieving my dreams - it will inspire me to keep fighting harder.
This entry was posted in mental illness, suicide and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

