It Just Keeps Getting Better

As I continue along this path to recovery, I’m constantly being surprised at the good things that continue to happen in my life, despite encountering obstacles along the way. I’ve come to a place in my healing where I can accept that challenges are a part of life and where they used to devastate me before, they now feel like they are empowering me. Today was an awesome day. 

I connected with a woman that I had the good fortune of meeting a few months ago and I know that our destinies were meant to cross. Her and I are meant to do good work together and I spent time talking to her today about the exciting things I’m doing and what lies ahead. She shared with me some great things that she has going on and I feel incredibly lucky to be a part of her circle of peers. 

I also was contacted about doing another speaking engagement about my story of hope and recovery and plans are afoot for that to happen in early October. I’ve spoken once before publicly about my experiences and it was very freeing to put that out into the universe and connect with others. I will continue my mission to do what I can to help stomp out the stigma and shame of having a mental illness. 

Work-wise, things are going great! I’ve settled into my role and feel competent and confident and am enjoying building new relationships with the people I work with. I love the field that I work in as it’s about helping people and I get a great deal of satisfication from that. 

Managing my illness is about being aware. I know that right now I’m in a good place, but I’m keenly aware that it could all disappear in a moments notice. The depression could rear its ugly head at any time, bringing me to my knees. But I can’t let that stop me from living my life right now. Life is about living in the moments. Enjoying what you have in front of you. Recovery is happening right now. 

And it just keeps getting better. 

About wendyenberg

Living the best life I can with BPD, Major Depressive Disorder, Anxiety and PTSD. Mental illness won't stop me from achieving my dreams - it will inspire me to keep fighting harder.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

