Things I Tell Myself

I want to say to you first of all that you are fucking amazing. I don’t care what the little voice inside of you has been telling you all this time, you’re incredible. People underestimate the strength it takes to live with a mental illness and unless you’re walking that journey you’ll never know it either. How do you do it? I bet you don’t even know the answer to that question yourself – you just do it.

The second thing I want to tell you is that living with a mental illness is like riding a roller coaster. There are highs and there are lows, and there are times when you will get to catch your breath. But you probably won’t get to get off the roller coaster like most people – instead, you’ll have to learn to ride the ride and accept that your life is different from others. Not worse, not bad – just different. Enjoy those highs when they come and relish the moments of exhilaration that they bring and use them to sustain you when the lows come crashing in. Remember, the lows won’t last forever.

The last thing I want to share with you is that if nothing else, never lose hope. You can live a life of passion and chase your dreams. The strength and courage you show in living with a mental illness is the same strength and courage that will carry you through the darkest of times. Hope will sustain you when you face adversity along the way.

Remember. You’re awesome.

About wendyenberg

Living the best life I can with BPD, Major Depressive Disorder, Anxiety and PTSD. Mental illness won't stop me from achieving my dreams - it will inspire me to keep fighting harder.
This entry was posted in mental illness, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Things I Tell Myself

  1. Jen says:

    So true.I don’t think people who don’t have it understand it. They might try but sometimes they can be so ignorant …

Leave a Reply

