OUT OF THE SHADOWS

Bringing Mental Illness Into The Light

I believe that I have found my purpose. My calling. Whatever people call it, I’ve discovered it. Well, stumbled across it really. But isn’t that how it happens sometimes? I mean, not everybody knows what their true purpose in life is when they are young do they? Genius and passion can strike at age 41 surely?

What is this passion you ask? Ok, that’s mighty presumptuous of me to be assuming that you’re asking, but if you’re still reading this, there’s a fairly good chance you’re still interested. That’s good, I’ll get to the point. Throughout my life, I’ve always enjoyed working in jobs where I got to help people, and I got a great deal of satisfaction when I could help someone through a difficult time. I thought perhaps I was going to be a social worker or something similar to that, but then mental illness appeared in my life and so began a different kind of journey.

I’ve spent years walking a path of discovery and healing and along the way, I discovered many broken souls like myself. And to my dismay, I also began to understand how so many of these broken souls were falling through the cracks of a broken system. A system that had been neglected for too long and that was now facing an epidemic that it was ill-prepared for. In my journey, I promised myself that I was going to do something to change this.

My purpose is to gather these broken souls and bring them out of the shadows. To let them know they are not alone. To help them be a voice. To be a beacon for others and to help others be a beacon. I believe in the power of kindness and compassion.

And I’m doing it. I’m not just talking about it. I’ve started Facebook pages and a support group. I blog and do interviews. I’m walking the walk.

Together we will move mental illness out of the shadows and into the light.

Wendy Enberg

About wendyenberg

Living the best life I can with BPD, Major Depressive Disorder, Anxiety and PTSD. Mental illness won't stop me from achieving my dreams - it will inspire me to keep fighting harder.
This entry was posted in mental illness, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to OUT OF THE SHADOWS

Leave a Reply

