FEELING GOOD

Yes….can that really be true? It’s been almost three weeks since I left treatment and I’m still able to say with some degree of confidence that I’m feeling good. What have I been doing to maintain my wellness?

1. Exercising. Yes I’m still maintaining my daily routine of exercising for 30 minutes. It’s still simply walking but I find myself being able to walk further and faster over time and I know that my mind benefits from the release of endorphins. There have been times when I engaged in negative self talk and tried to talk myself out of my walk, but there’s a part of me that wants recovery more.

2. Taking my medications as prescribed. This one has actually been a bit of a challenge as they did make changes to my meds while in hospital and I have been having a few hiccups getting used to the new routine on my own. But I’m persistent and have put all the reminders in my phone to avoid any more mix-ups and things are going much more smoothly now. I no longer take any sleeping medication and am happy to report that I sleep a solid eight hours every night!

3. Accessing my supports. I’ve been following up with my support team to help me maintain my recovery. This has Included my friends, family and professionals and involved me going to see them or connecting online or on the phone.

4. Showing myself compassion. I’m being as gentle and kind with myself as I would be with anyone that I care about. I am learning to accept that my recovery is at my pace and that I am doing the best that I can.

Life is never going to be easy and that’s ok…..it’s not meant to be. But I do feel stronger every day and like I can handle what it has to throw at me. It feels good to feel good.

About wendyenberg

Living the best life I can with BPD, Major Depressive Disorder, Anxiety and PTSD. Mental illness won't stop me from achieving my dreams - it will inspire me to keep fighting harder.
This entry was posted in mental illness, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to FEELING GOOD

  1. Marie says:

    Great job following through on all of those!

Leave a Reply

