4 THINGS YOU SHOULD KNOW

These are the four things I want to say to my daughter, who is experiencing a mental health crisis right now.

1. YOU ARE NOT ALONE When you go through a mental health crisis, it’s difficult to believe that you aren’t alone. When I struggle with my illness, it’s easy to fall into the trap of thinking that there’s nobody to support me. The truth is, it’s at my darkest times when those that love me shine their brightest. I want you to always have faith that I am there for you and so are many other loved ones.

2. THIS WILL PASS</ When you are in the midst of a breakdown or in crisis, you honestly cannot see the end in sight. The intensity of the storm is so strong and overbearing that you are left wondering if it will ever end. Well the storms do pass and sunny skies will appear again. You just have to plant your feet firmly in the ground and weather the raging winds. But I promise you, this too shall pass.

3. YOU ARE STRONG Often, when I was in the middle of the crisis I felt weak and vulnerable and would question how was I going to handle this terrible burden. I didn’t feel strong enough to weather the storm and then I would get caught up in the cycle of worrying that I could not bear the struggles any longer. But somewhere, deep inside, you find the courage and strength to carry on. I want to let you know that you come from a long line of strong people and you will be able to handle these burdens.

4. YOU ARE LOVED When you are in the middle of a breakdown or a struggle, it’s easy to lose sight of how many people love you. Just because you are behaving in a way that’s difficult, people don’t just stop loving you. They love you even more and they wish they could take away your pain for you. Try to never lose sight of the love that surrounds you.

Getting through a mental health crisis is a challenge for anyone. I hope these four tips help you to remember that you don’t have to do it alone. You are surrounded with love, kindness, compassion and support and that will never change.

About wendyenberg

Living the best life I can with BPD, Major Depressive Disorder, Anxiety and PTSD. Mental illness won't stop me from achieving my dreams - it will inspire me to keep fighting harder.
This entry was posted in marriage and children, mental illness, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

