REACH OUT

The last month has been incredibly difficult in our family and often I would find myself withdrawing from the supports I have around me as I tried to cope with the unrelenting stress. It’s my nature to retreat inside myself and just “handle” things and not reach out for love from those around me. It then becomes easy to fall into the trap of believing that I have no support.

To try and break myself of this pattern, I’ve been consciously reaching out to my friends and sharing what’s happening for me. It feels so good to have someone there to just listen as I unleash all the stress and pain that I’ve been coping with. And you know what, it actually makes me feel like I’m stronger and better able to cope with what’s still to come.

I would encourage anyone who is struggling to reach out for help. Many of my supports come from groups that I belong to online and those supports are just as beneficial.

About wendyenberg

Living the best life I can with BPD, Major Depressive Disorder, Anxiety and PTSD. Mental illness won't stop me from achieving my dreams - it will inspire me to keep fighting harder.
This entry was posted in mental illness, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to REACH OUT

  1. Hey Wendy

    I completely agree! When I get overwhelmed I want to spare my friends/family any bad feeling from knowing that I’m down. I don’t want to be the rain cloud passing over everyone I know.

    Even though it is COMPLETELY counter-intuitive I make every effort to reach out and get support. When you least want to do it is when you most need to, I’ve found.

    If you’re interested in having another string to your bow – we are trying to start a peer to peer support group using Skype. The idea being you have people who it is impossible to irritate with making demands for support because it is why we’re on Skype in the first place. Everyone logged in is making themselves available so you know they’re strong enough to support someone else.

    http://skypesupportinitiative.wordpress.com/

    Have a look and either way – I wish you all the best.

    H&J

Leave a Reply

