Managing Mental Illness

It takes a lot of time, effort, and dedication to manage a chronic illness. There’s medications to manage, appointments to attend, and self-care to practice. When you have a mental illness, it’s no different. I used to beat myself up because I’m not able to work during this time, but with some reflection and self-compassion, I’m beginning to understand how much work recovery is!

I would never scoff at someone who was doing the best they could to manage their illness, so why do I scoff at myself? I’m constantly judging myself for the symptoms of my illness and blaming myself for being ill. Nobody asks for a chronic illness – it’s just luck of the draw really. I don’t deserve it but I’ve accepted it. What recovery means for me is that I keep working towards better managing the symptoms of my illness and live the best life I can live.

So if you are living with a chronic health condition (physical or mental) count yourself among the Heroes of the world. Just like someone who battles cancer, battling mental illness requires strength and courage – something all of you have!!

About wendyenberg

Living the best life I can with BPD, Major Depressive Disorder, Anxiety and PTSD. Mental illness won't stop me from achieving my dreams - it will inspire me to keep fighting harder.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

