BE BRAVE

20140312-091512.jpg

BE BRAVE for you are fighting for your life. Mental illness will prove to be a formidable opponent so you must dig deep within your soul and find the courage to keep going. Keep living. Keep trying.

Remember when you were a child and you conquered a fear and what that felt like? For me, one of my fears was going all the way to the top of the slide and finally being brave enough to sit down, take a deep breath and just let go. How exhilarating it was to feel the rush as I slid down…..holding my breath the entire way and when landing at the bottom no worse for wear, taking a look up at how far I had dared to go. THAT FEELING! Or the first time I jumped off the diving board at our local pool. That’s courage and that’s what it feels like…..and although at times I struggle to find that bravery when I’m facing one of life’s hurdles, I try to focus on this feeling.

You don’t have to roar like a lion to be brave. Every single day that you wake up, your courage is worn on your sleeve. Just doing your best to live a good life is enough. You don’t need medals of Honour to show how hard you’ve had to fight; you bear the scars on your heart and deep in your soul.

Being brave doesn’t mean faking it so everyone thinks you are strong – it means being the real you and letting others see your pain. Asking for help is the strongest thing you will ever have to do and asking for help doesn’t mean there’s something wrong with you, just that there’s something wrong.

Though you may feel helpless at times, know that you have the strength and bravery of many warriors behind you. You are not alone anymore.

Wendy Enberg

About wendyenberg

Living the best life I can with BPD, Major Depressive Disorder, Anxiety and PTSD. Mental illness won't stop me from achieving my dreams - it will inspire me to keep fighting harder.
This entry was posted in mental illness, suicide and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to BE BRAVE

Leave a Reply

