NO APPROVAL NEEDED

20140226-161638.jpg

This is a mantra that I really try to incorporate into my life. The key to my own recovery has been learning to accept myself and understand that no approval other than my own is needed. I alone, am the one to judge my own actions and behaviours. Letting go of the idea that I need someone else’s approval in order to be worthy has been freeing.

Like a lot of people, I spent my childhood desperately seeking the approval of my parents, my sibling, my friends and my teachers. I strived to be the very best so these people would like me. Their approval was what I was using to determine my self worth as I never considered myself worthy. Low self esteem and a lack of confidence in myself led me to seek love and affection from unhealthy people as well. I spent years with the wrong partners, always believing if I could be perfect for them then everything would work out ok.

After my psychotic break, I slowly began the process of rebuilding myself and along the way, through therapy and self-education, I discarded things that were unhealthy for me. This jncluded the need for the approval of others for my own happiness. I also removed toxic people from my life even though it was painful. And you know what, I’m happier. And I’m doing things my way and I know that I’m a kind loving and compassionate person and the people who deserve to be in my life are right where they belong. No approval needed.

About wendyenberg

Living the best life I can with BPD, Major Depressive Disorder, Anxiety and PTSD. Mental illness won't stop me from achieving my dreams - it will inspire me to keep fighting harder.
This entry was posted in mental illness and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

