Life’s Too Short

20140115-230034.jpg

Have you ever been in a group project where you were all given the same basic materials to work with and you had to come up with a work of art? And some people would create beautiful pottery from molds of clay, while others would create what appeared to be just more molds of clay? I believe that life is like that. We are all in that one second before we take our first breaths the same basic material in the beginning.

Then life starts and people around you start to mold you. And some of us are born to masterful artists that can draw out the beauty and wonder of the person they’re molding with swift ease. They look at this new child and see all the potential that is there and this child is loved and nurtured and allowed to become what the artist envisioned.

Others feel helpless and afraid of their task of molding a new person. Instead of seeing the beauty within, they strive to make the clay something it’s not. They don’t envision what their child has yet to become….they just see the child for something she is. A lump of clay. The clay is kept moist and is well taken care of but has yet to become what she can be.

I was a child that didn’t get molded and I’ve been hanging around like a lump of clay yearning for someone to bring out my beauty and free my spirit. I’ve had people come and go but get easily bored with the challenge of me, but I never lose hope that someday, someone will come along and guide me and nurture me to the beauty and greatness that I can be.

Life is too short to not experience some happiness.

Ff

About wendyenberg

Living the best life I can with BPD, Major Depressive Disorder, Anxiety and PTSD. Mental illness won't stop me from achieving my dreams - it will inspire me to keep fighting harder.
This entry was posted in marriage and children, mental illness and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

