I Wonder

I wonder about a lot of things. I wonder how the people I went to high school with are doing at this point in their lives. Are they happy? Are they questioning life’s purpose the same way I am on this journey? Do they wish they could go back in time for awhile with the wisdom they have today and change some of the things they did or said?

I wonder sometimes about the people that have been in and out of my life and I wonder how the ones who are out are doing. Was I in their life for a reason or were they in mine for a reason or was it all just a coincidence? I wonder if I taught them some life lessons the way they taught me some?

I wonder how my children will navigate their way through adulthood. Are they more equipped than I was? Have I loved them enough when they most needed it? Will they spend years working through pain and sadness from their childhoods? Will they be ok? Will they love me when I’m old?

I wonder if the people in my life now are there for good? Who will remain on my journey with me and who will fade into a memory? Why do people fade away? Why don’t we put as much work into a relationship as we can?

I wonder why I wonder all this and then I wonder why I wonder that.

I wonder.

20131203-221658.jpg

About wendyenberg

Living the best life I can with BPD, Major Depressive Disorder, Anxiety and PTSD. Mental illness won't stop me from achieving my dreams - it will inspire me to keep fighting harder.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I Wonder

  1. This brought to my mind one of my favorite hymns at Christmas time is called, “I Wonder as I Wander.”

Leave a Reply

