Determination

20131021-145638.jpg

Since I first became ill in 2006 with my mental health, I’ve had to be quite the advocate for myself. Services that you need aren’t always easy to find and even knowing what services you need is quite the challenge to figure out.

I’ve taken a wide number of therapy groups over the years and I always enjoyed them and learned something new about myself. You get all these skills and pumped up about making positive changes but then suddenly, the group that you have formed a bond with is gone.

Ongoing “support” groups seem to be what’s been missing for me. I wanted to find a long term group where individuals who may be at different places in their recovery can come together and just support each other. The journey through mental illness is often painful and confusing and I think if I had had a stable group that I could always come back to I would be further along in my recovery.

Upon discovering that my community didn’t offer any support groups other than AA, I am setting out to start one myself. I took the first steps towards that goal today and I’m hoping to take at least one step forward each day. It may take me awhile to get things up and running, but I am determined.

Determination is beautiful. I hope to apply this to more areas of my life like my physical health and nutrition and I will. I just need to keep rolling it around in my mind until I can make it a reality.

I may move at a pace others find too slow, but I’m going the speed that’s right for me.

About wendyenberg

Living the best life I can with BPD, Major Depressive Disorder, Anxiety and PTSD. Mental illness won't stop me from achieving my dreams - it will inspire me to keep fighting harder.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

