Wise Vs. Emotional?

20130819-102255.jpg

This was one of the first concepts we went over in DBT and I have to admit that I struggle to find the balance and live in the “wise mind”. I imagine it to be a state of happiness and balance and most likely the best place to be for positive outcomes. But for someone who has lived most of her life in the emotional mind, grasping the concept of logical thinking can be difficult.

To me, logical thinkers are cold and no nonsense type of people. They don’t seem to be in touch with their emotions at all and I understand why they might be unhealthy if they spend ALL their time in logical mind. Where’s the magic and the creativity and the passion that comes with the emotional mind?

However, balance is about finding your spot somewhere in the middle. I married a very logical man and I’m learning to adopt some of his ways that are beneficial to my well being. Things like trying to eat healthy, be active, and be responsible. I ask myself often when I’m doing something, “what would the logical mind do?” Just by taking that one extra step when I’m full blast emotional thinking helps bring some calm to my storm.

I practice a mindfulness technique where I have a picture of this diagram in my mind and I sort my thoughts into where they fit. I don’t judge them – sorting just helps me see the person I am inside. It’s a helpful exercise for me and slowly I see more and more logical thinking happening from within.

I’m never going to be that logical no nonsense kind of person – it’s not my personality but I am going to stop being judgmental of people who are so logical – like me they are a unique person and have to find their own balance to make their lives work for them – not me.

About wendyenberg

Living the best life I can with BPD, Major Depressive Disorder, Anxiety and PTSD. Mental illness won't stop me from achieving my dreams - it will inspire me to keep fighting harder.
This entry was posted in mental illness and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

