B R O K E N

20130817-134447.jpg

In 2006 I broke. I feel like I broke into a several pieces and I’ve been spending the last seven years trying to put myself back together again. Some of the pieces were large and easy to find and I seemed to be returning to my old self slowly. But wait, do I really want to go back to that girl? Yes, there are some things about her that I like, but can I just bring those qualities with me and instead of my old self, I’ll build a new me?

I’m a puzzle waiting to be put together in a way that makes sense to me. I think before, when the puzzle that is me was put together, the pieces didn’t quite fit together smoothly. It’s like someone had forced the piece into a spot it didn’t fit, and when I broke, I felt a sense of relief from that uncomfortable sensation.

This time, I’m using patience and skill to put the puzzle of me together. I’m looking at the picture carefully and taking the time and patience it requires to transform broken pieces into the masterpiece we become.

So, yes I am a broken masterpiece.

About wendyenberg

Living the best life I can with BPD, Major Depressive Disorder, Anxiety and PTSD. Mental illness won't stop me from achieving my dreams - it will inspire me to keep fighting harder.
This entry was posted in mental illness and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to B R O K E N

  1. Ken says:

    Your words and the way you get them out in your writing are amazing. All these words and emotions are in my head and the puzzle inside my head is never ending and sometimes I cannot even put 2 pieces together to even start the puzzle…really appreciate you being so strong and open and sharing…thank you…Ken

    • wendyenberg says:

      Thanks so much. Reading what you wrote in response to what I posted made me tear up. I’m so pleased that my writing has touched someone in this way.

Leave a Reply

