Peer Led Initiatives

I recently had the opportunity to meet with the Alberta Mental Health Advocacy representative and a member of the Edmonton Region Addiction and Mental Health Services. I was looking for more information on what services are available for individuals who are at the point in their recovery where they feel they can gain purpose while helping others through the pain and struggle of dealing with a mental illness.

I was excited to learn of the fantastic initiatives they are working on getting implemented. Peer led group facilitations, peer advocacy, peers at the table to discuss service gaps and programming and a change in the mindset of listening to people with lived experience. I’m on my way to becoming a facilitator – I will be taking the WRAP program which is a set of sessions designed to give me the skills to create and implement my own personal plan for wellness. I feel it fits well in my journey as I have been working on defining my identity and finding purpose and I feel passionate about this adventure!

Once I complete the WRAP program, I will join other facilitators in offering peer led group sessions throughout the Edmonton area. I also plan to continue to pursue my advocacy for services and compassion for those dealing with mental illness. I hope to raise awareness and do my part to remove the stigma of having a mental illness.

About wendyenberg

Living the best life I can with BPD, Major Depressive Disorder, Anxiety and PTSD. Mental illness won't stop me from achieving my dreams - it will inspire me to keep fighting harder.
This entry was posted in mental illness and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Peer Led Initiatives

  1. Good news. I pray you find purpose and peace along your path.

Leave a Reply

