Accepting Happiness

20130607-092144.jpg

Yesterday afternoon, after a relaxing drive home from being at the “farm”, I realized that I was feeling happy. Content. What?? This emotion is not one that has appeared as often as the “negative emotions” —-what to do? I asked myself?

Now typically, we learn in DBT to “ride the wave of the emotion and try to keep yourself grounded and not become overwhelmed by the emotion. I practice this skill daily and I have to say that this is a powerful tool to have in your survival kits. But when this emotion of happiness started lapping at my toes, I wanted to embrace it. Allow myself to be swept away and enjoy the feeling. Immerse myself into its waters and frolic.

Upon feeling happy, I also was inspired to “sparkle” myself up a bit – put on my makeup and fluffed up the hair and you know what? I felt good! The feeling stayed with me all evening and I must say that by accepting happiness and allowing myself to enjoy it, it has inspired me to look for more things that make ME happy.

So today I’m inspired to go thrift store shopping! I love finding great deals on clothes and gadgets and of course BOOKS – I haven’t done this in a very long time and I hope that I enjoy it as much as I did in the past.

Like every emotion, happiness comes and goes, but just as I must stand tall and battle some of them, I also can enjoy the riches of others.

Thank you to all of you who are following my blog!

About wendyenberg

Living the best life I can with BPD, Major Depressive Disorder, Anxiety and PTSD. Mental illness won't stop me from achieving my dreams - it will inspire me to keep fighting harder.
This entry was posted in mental illness and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

