One Step @ a time

Today was a therapy day and also had a brief meeting with my individual therapist so double whammy emotionally. Today we talked about physical things can make us more vulnerable to the powerful mess of emotions that we deal with (and by we I refer to those of us who deal with mood disorders as part of our mental illness) and how we can try to reduce these.

1. Nutrition and Diet – as I worked on the exercise for this module. I realized that I used food as a way of control. I would not eat anything all day and I thought that I was in charge of my diet. But then I would binge on carbs and fats when I was famished and feel sluggish and tired afterwards. Intellectually, I know that this is wrong and I’m trying to make small changes to improve this. I’m eating more frequently and making smarter choices – most of the time. I am an emotional eater and usually crave the high carb comfort foods that my mom always served and learning to like fresh vegetables and fruit is kinda like learning to like having your period.

2. Exercise is very important to help improve mood naturally and to improve digestion and maintain a healthy weight. I am working on this as well as I try to go everyday for a twenty minute walk and some rowing, but man it’s easy to just let it slip. If its raining, or I’ve had a hard day emotionally – I need to continue working on turning the mind in this department.

3. Sleep – I try to maintain my schedule of sleep routine as much as I can. It’s important that my mind and body receive the rest they need as they are doing a lot of work when I’m awake!!

All of this change is good for me but I struggle with the thoughts that I’m not changing fast enough. Today was about accepting that we all change at our own pace and what we can handle and I am making progress. Just keep putting one foot in front of the other. Soon I may even see results.

About wendyenberg

Living the best life I can with BPD, Major Depressive Disorder, Anxiety and PTSD. Mental illness won't stop me from achieving my dreams - it will inspire me to keep fighting harder.
This entry was posted in mental illness and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to One Step @ a time

  1. kas0508 says:

    “Learning to like your period”. XD Brilliant

Leave a Reply

