What A Week

Do you ever wonder what it’s like to have a mental illness? Do you think it can’t happen to you or someone you love? My life is surrounded, almost enveloped in dealing with mental illness and to be honest, a lot of times it consumes me. I myself have been battling mental illness since my adolescence and finally started seeking treatment for this in 2006. Wow, that seems so long ago – yet it feels like only yesterday – could it really be seven years already? So much in my life has changed, and so much more is yet to come. If you are at the beginning of your recovery or somewhere along that journey, don’t lose hope. Change takes time and you didn’t build that person you are in a day. Sometimes we need to fall apart so we can put ourselves back together the way we see that we should be – rebuilding our lives and a chance to discover who we really can be. Delight in the creativity that madness can bring, but be careful not to be too charmed by her embrace. Not everyone you love, and everyone who loves you can go there with you. You must learn to find the balance and be you.

About wendyenberg

Living the best life I can with BPD, Major Depressive Disorder, Anxiety and PTSD. Mental illness won't stop me from achieving my dreams - it will inspire me to keep fighting harder.
This entry was posted in mental illness and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

