Happiness in its True Form

20130505-175720.jpg

Today I woke up in a terrible mood. I overslept for one thing which prevented me from my regular morning routine – we had a volleyball game to be at for 7:30 a.m. and you just know you can’t be late for that!! Do I sound irritated? I certainly started off my day that way.

Fast forward two hours and my daughter and I find an unexpected 3 hour break between volleyball games. So I spontaneously decided that we should visit my cousin Carrie. Her and I had spoken the night before and she sounded really overwhelmed. So off my daughter and I went to visit. Well Mr C happens to be Carries son, a gorgeous delightful 7 year old who knows nothing but finding joy. Everything is awesome to him and he LIVES every moment. When I am with him I can’t focus on anything except being happy too.

I was able to give back to my cousin and support her through her own struggles. Her and I share similar childhoods and no doubt have the same struggles that plague families like cancer does. I took Mr C back with me to watch more volleyball and treated him to a happy meal. His mom enjoyed a two hour unexpected break as well.

Life is truly about living the moment. Worry today or worry tomorrow – ill pick tomorrow. I feel more in touch with myself after spending an afternoon with someone who lives every day in the moment.

I’m grateful for the life I have. I’ve danced close to the edge too many times to not have an appreciation for the dynamic changes that are happening.

If you struggle with dancing close to the edge, hang on. With the right therapy you just may find yourself using the skills you learn to get you through the tough times.

About wendyenberg

Living the best life I can with BPD, Major Depressive Disorder, Anxiety and PTSD. Mental illness won't stop me from achieving my dreams - it will inspire me to keep fighting harder.
This entry was posted in mental illness. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

