Day One of New Group

Yesterday was day one of the Emotional Regulation module. Small group this time and we all connected quite quickly. Of course, four of us were in the Distress Tolerance module that ended last week. I think I’m going to like this module. We were talking about using mindfulness to be in the wise mind and discussing being too much in the emotional mind or too much in the reasonable mind. The idea is to find the balance in the middle and be what’s in “wise mind”. I think that society often scolds people for being in the emotional mind, instilling in us from a young age to not give in to our emotions. “Suck it up” or “ill give you something to cry about” – words I’m sure many of us have heard. Well I want to point out that although there are many cons to being too much in the wise mind, there are some positives and I’d like to focus on those.

Being in the emotional mind inspires me. My creativity is sparked and comes out in many ways. I’m bright and sparkling and many of us with BPD are this way – we feel emotions more intensely and this includes feelings such as joy, love and happiness. A lot of artists live in the emotional mind and express their sometimes dark feelings through their art.

Having emotions is what makes us human. To feel is to live and I’m hoping that while I do gain the skills to manage my emotions, I don’t want to lose the way I can get lost in the good feelings. It’s more about managing my Behaviours instead of my emotions managing me.

Looking forward to the next few weeks and continuing to gain the skills necessary to live a happy and healthy life.

About wendyenberg

Living the best life I can with BPD, Major Depressive Disorder, Anxiety and PTSD. Mental illness won't stop me from achieving my dreams - it will inspire me to keep fighting harder.
This entry was posted in mental illness. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

