Mindful and Teenagers!!

Today (or tonight rather) my 16 year old will be hosting her first party. She has twenty friends coming over and I gotta admit I’m nervous. Hubby and I are going to be sequestered in our room for the night – making occasional sweeps through to make sure things are going ok. Perhaps if all the little shits know that mom and dad are home they will be more likely to behave. I doubt they will be able to contain the noise level to what we considerable acceptable, but hey….it’s one night. I remember having my first party and I waited until my parents were out of town…..still got busted! Neighbors ratted me out and there was a tiny chip in the bathroom sink that my mom noticed afterwards. Oops. But considering I had about 50 people over and I was very intoxicated I did all right. I trust my daughter and even though she doesn’t always show the best judgment, she does love her home and she does want our trust and love.

I’ve been feeling the downside of all the excitement last week and this week has been a struggle to get through. I usually feel sluggish and exhausted by four in the afternoon and I have to push myself to keep going. This morning I woke up to a lack of coffee in the house!! How the hell did I let that happen??! I managed to squeeze one cup out of some grounds I had but going through serious withdrawals. So instead I cleaned up the kitchen. I was up at six thirty am – wish there were days I could sleep in but it never seems to work out that way. I’m sitting outside listening to the spring birds sing their morning greetings and its a beautiful sound. I also practiced mindfulness using my senses. The warmth of the sun on my face, the smell of fresh air, the sound of the birds calling, and the sights of life all around me. Today I am thankful for my life.

Xo

20130427-145944.jpg

About wendyenberg

Living the best life I can with BPD, Major Depressive Disorder, Anxiety and PTSD. Mental illness won't stop me from achieving my dreams - it will inspire me to keep fighting harder.
This entry was posted in mental illness. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

