One more day!

Well, all the planning has been done, details checked twice and tomorrow is the first day of our three day conference. I am so excited! This is what my work is all about and I can’t wait to rock this out. I have been enjoying a fabulous week at work and its made my mood great. I even had some disagreements with my husband and they didn’t send me into a downward spiral. I also have been using the skills I learned in my distress Tolerance module and I’m thankful I’ve had the opportunity to learn this.

We finished our module on Wednesday and it was sad as some of the participants are done and won’t be coming into the next module. That’s the tough part about short term groups – you build up a sense I trust and comfort with your little group and then you have to say goodbye. I will miss them but we have connected via Facebook so we can stay in touch.

Next module is on “Emotional Regulation” and I believe it’s about learning to recognize and manage emotions effectively. People with BPD feel emotions more strongly than regular people and we are often overwhelmed with the intensity and power of the feelings. I’m looking forward to gaining more skills in this area as managing MY emotions is gonna take some work!

I continue to spread my passion at work for raising awareness of mental illness and removing the stigma. I feel that I am making a difference there -y coworkers turn to me and confess their own struggles and I like knowing that I might be able to help them. I always felt like a blind mouse figuring out the maze of services and if I can help one person, then that’s reward enough.

Thanks for reading!!

20130418-153438.jpg

About wendyenberg

Living the best life I can with BPD, Major Depressive Disorder, Anxiety and PTSD. Mental illness won't stop me from achieving my dreams - it will inspire me to keep fighting harder.
This entry was posted in mental illness. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to One more day!

  1. Serenity Peace says:

    Your work is much appreciated and admired, first of all. Secondly I could relate to the point you made about a sense of trust and comfort in a group. When people leave, you find yourself wondering how they are. It’s a small family.

    • wendyenberg says:

      I know that when I find others that think and feel the way I do I finally feel that I’m not alone. Others do suffer in similar ways and we CAN beat this illness. I’m a survivor, not a victim.

Leave a Reply

