Giving Back

Wow! 206 people have viewed my blog today! I’m excited that these people took a few moments to hear what I have to say. And thank you to those who gave me such awesome feedback – it’s a warm feeling I get inside when I hear that I touched someone. I think that emotion is happiness….and perhaps I am feeling this way because I am finding my purpose.

In fact, I’m going to try to bring more awareness to my worksite and hopefully expand it to other worksites. Not only do I want to raise awareness, I hope to help connect people with the resources they might need. I know that when I began my descent into what I call my “dark days”, I didn’t know what services were out there and what I needed. In fact, until my first suicide attempt, I wasn’t even aware that there were crisis lines you could call. I stumbled and fumbled my way through the maze of the mental health world and it really took a lot of advocating for myself to find services. Looking back, I’m glad I was always honest and upfront with the doctors about what I was experiencing. Thankfully I had the ability to articulate my experiences in a way that they understood.

Right now, I am helping a family member navigate her way through recovery. I feel grateful that I can help ease her journey by being there for her and guiding her to the services. I also attend appointments with her and am there to advocate and communicate her needs.

I have to admit that sometimes this triggers me as I too walked some of the same hallways I’m now taking her down….and I reflect that I always wished I had someone there for me, instead of being alone. Seeing her at the stage she is in reminds me of my own sadness and despair and sometimes those feelings are overwhelming. I know that in order to continue my advocacy, I need to ensure that I take care of my mental health needs and not lose track of how important that is.

Helping someone through their pain can sometimes ease your own

Well, off to a birthday celebration with my family. I’m thankful I’m here to share in these moments.

About wendyenberg

Living the best life I can with BPD, Major Depressive Disorder, Anxiety and PTSD. Mental illness won't stop me from achieving my dreams - it will inspire me to keep fighting harder.
This entry was posted in mental illness. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Giving Back

  1. pam says:

    Thankyou Wendy,it’s the first time I’ve found your site. I love your honesty and you describe BPD perfectly,helping me to put into words how I feel,something I struggle with,maybe I can explain easier to my cpn now. I was diagnosed 3 years ago despite having problems a long time before that. Keep up the good work

Leave a Reply

