Radical Acceptance

Today in DBT we talked about radical acceptance and watched a video of Dr. Marsha Linehan on what this concept is about. I feel like it really hit home today with me and the current situation I’m dealing with. Really productive day for me. In my individual session, I was able to see that I have incredible supports built into my life right now and because I have opened up some of my doors they have come in. Also I made the connection that pieces of my identity are starting to fit together – instead of feeling like a jumbled 500 piece puzzle.

I truly believe that this particular round of group and individual therapy is making a huge difference in my life. With the commitment I’ve made to really embracing this stuff and incorporating it into my life, the changes are happening. And I’m not afraid. I’m excited and a little nervous, but for the first time there’s not that fear of the unknown.

I said to my therapist today that I have always felt like a butterfly that chose to hide in her cocoon where it was safe and away from anything bad….but I was missing out on all the awesomeness of being a butterfly by doing that. It’s time to break out from that cocoon once and for all. Spread my beautiful wings and savor life. Today, that cocoon cracked just a tiny bit…..

About wendyenberg

Living the best life I can with BPD, Major Depressive Disorder, Anxiety and PTSD. Mental illness won't stop me from achieving my dreams - it will inspire me to keep fighting harder.
This entry was posted in mental illness. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Radical Acceptance

  1. This was so inspiring and motivating to read. Keep on cracking that cocoon!
    –JW

Leave a Reply

